My Conscious Living Wake-Up Plan

In the Beginning

Last year when I started this blog my main focus was my external world and associated projects. What I’ve learned in the last eleven months, is that to truly connect with my outside world I need to take a more holistic approach. So…I’m zooming out a bit and expanding the scope of this blog to include my entire journey. Instead of trying to limit my entries to those specific to projects related to biophillic design principles, I’m going to open this up (more formally) to entries that promote my journey into Conscious Living. My writing has already wondered about a bit as I’ve gone through some major emotional life changes this last year…this is just formalizing it a bit. I’m still intensely interested in biophillic design, particularly green roofing, and plan to look for ways to bring more of that type of thinking/doing into my everyday life and work, but I expect my writings this year will also include more about ways to provide self-care, promote enlightenment, and in general, live in a more conscious manner in all aspects of my life.

Now

For me, conscious living means living in the highest state of awareness as I can muster in the moment.  It means having the courage to face the reality of the moment and not numb-out, sleep-walk or drift through my days.  This can be scary; life is constantly changing, most noticeably when we don’t want it to.  There are many teachings on the concept of the impermanence of life – the fluidity of the people, places, and situations that make up our world – and frankly sometimes it just seems easier to not think about all that and numbly do the next thing on my life until it’s time to go to bed, wake up and start over again.

My goal is simple, to raise my awareness whenever possible (and when it occurs to me) so that I can experience a deeper level of satisfaction with my actions, choices, and people in my life.

Where to start?  I like to think in metaphors….and to carry forward the theme of my site (tar2trees) I think a tree provides perfect framework for my Wake-Up Plan.  My plan is build a healthy root system from which to grow…focusing on my 3 core aspects that make up me:

  1. Mental Awareness – Reshaping thoughts and beliefs that have created who I think I am in the world
  2. Spiritual Awareness – Connectedness with something bigger than me
  3. Physical Awareness – Conscious actions toward a healthier embodiment of the Mental and Spiritual me

My belief is that by focusing what I believe are the roots of me, that I will be build a sturdy trunk, from which I can branch out and share/experience life on a deeper more connected level with the people and causes most important to me.  I’m excited to see how the next 11 months unfold!

My “Tree of Life”

Awareness Tree

4 thoughts on “My Conscious Living Wake-Up Plan

  1. Awesome! I love this holistic approach and can’t wait to see where you go with it. I have been practicing creative awareness lately – that is, trying to create something new and good out of all interactions. It’s really a struggle for me.

      1. Remembering is the hardest. I need to begin every interaction with “what can we create that doesn’t currently exist?”

Please Share!

